(845) 764-9656     |    Schedule Consultation
X (Twitter)
Open/Close Menu World Class Attorneys, Hudson Valley Roots


New York State Governor Andrew Cuomo announced on September 8th, that individuals traveling to New York from certain designated locations seeing spikes in COVID-19 cases will be required to self-quarantine for 14 days upon entering New York State.    This includes New York residents who return to the state after visiting a location on the quarantine list. The requirement applies to travelers from any location which has a 10% positivity rate for the total daily tests, or locations that have 10 residents out of 100,000 test positive for COVID-19.  Both metrics are based on a seven-day rolling average.


  • Alaska
  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Guam
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • New Mexico
  • Nevada
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming

Incoming travelers from these locations are subject to a 14-day self-quarantine upon entry to New York. Locations are placed on this list if they have a 10% positivity rate for the total daily tests, or if 10 residents out of 100,000 test positive for COVID-19.

Both metrics are based on a seven-day rolling average.

Click here to read the current COVID-19 Travel Advisory for New York State or visit https://coronavirus.health.ny.gov/covid-19-travel-advisory


Travelers who pass through designated locations during their course of travel are exempt from the quarantine requirements upon entry or return to New York State if they spend less than 24 hours in a designated location.  Examples of such short term passage include visiting highway rest stops and lay-overs for air, bus or train travel.  In addition, essential workers are exempt from the quarantine requirements, but are encouraged to take precautions to avoid extended time in public.  Essential workers should also monitor themselves for any signs and symptoms and get diagnostically tested upon arrival to New York State if they will be staying for a period greater than 36 hours.


The penalty for violating the travel advisory is a fine up to $2,000, or up to $10,000 if the individual causes harm while violating the advisory.  Local law enforcement will be responsible for enforcing the travel advisory and Governor Cuomo suggested police officers will be stopping cars on the road with license plates from locations that are subject to the Executive Order.

You can learn more by visiting coronavirus.health.ny.gov/covid-19-travel-advisory.

This is not intended to be legal advice.  You should contact an attorney for advice regarding your specific situation.

Be sure to visit our Coronavirus Resource Page for more information.

Paul Denbaum

Paul Denbaum, Esq., is an associate at the firm and practices real estate, litigation, municipal and landlord tenant law. He can be reached at  866-303-9595 toll free or 845-764-9656 and by email.

Pay your Invoice Credit Cards   

©2023 J&G Law, LLP. All rights reserved.

J&G Law, LLP